Wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham to choose captain New Zealand for Bangladesh ODIs Series

Wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham to choose captain New Zealand for Bangladesh ODIs Series



Wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham will captain New Zealand in the absence of injured common skipper Kane Williamson for the one-day international series towards Bangladesh, New Zealand Cricket mentioned on Thursday.

Latham leads a squad that includes three potential debutants in Devon Conway, Will Younger and Daryl Mitchell for the three-game series which begins in Dunedin on March 20. Williamson was dominated out this week with elbow damage after guiding the Black Caps to a 3-2 Twenty20 series win over Australia on Sunday. “While it’s disappointing to lose a participant of Kane’s class, Tom has confirmed expertise in taking the reins and I do know he’s excited to steer the facet,” selector Gavin Larsen mentioned in a media launch.

Paceman Lockie Ferguson was dominated out as he continues his rehabilitation from an again damage and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme is about for surgical procedure on a difficult proper ankle which hampered him all through the 2020-21 season.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead mentioned he was “gutted” for De Grandhomme however hoped he could bematch for the Test tour of England.

ALSO READ | India vs NZ WTC Final will be played at Southampton, England

New Zealand is slated to play two Tests towards England and the June 18-22 remaining of the World Test Championship towards India in Southampton. “We’re hopeful following surgical procedure and rehabilitation (De Grandhomme) shall be an opportunity to make the squad,” mentioned Stead.

In De Grandhomme’s absence, Mitchell would be the third all-rounder within the 13-man squad towards Bangladesh alongside James Neesham and Mitchell Santner. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the collection shall be New Zealand’s first one-day worldwide competitors since a defeat to Australia in Sydney in March 13, 2020.

Latham is in line to play a long-awaited 100th ODI in the series-opener in Dunedin, with Canterbury team-mate Henry Nicholls to play his 50th.

NZ Squad

  • Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (c), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here