WBBL 2020: Sydney Thunder beat Brisbane Heat to reach final

WBBL 2020: Sydney Thunder beat Brisbane Heat to reach final




Sammy-Jo Johnson is mobbed after taking the wicket which sealed Sydney Thunder's place in the final
Sammy-Jo Johnson (second from proper) joined Sydney Thunder from Brisbane Heat after final season’s Big Bash

Sydney Thunder pulled off an outstanding 12-run win over Brisbane Heat to succeed in the ultimate of the Women’s Big Bash League.

Chasing 144, the Heat – champions for the previous two seasons – collapsed from 119-Four to 131 all out regardless of Laura Kimmince’s 37 off 17 balls in Sydney.

Hannah Darlington, 18, took 3-19, whereas Sammy-Jo Johnson claimed 2-14 towards her former facet.

The Thunder will meet Melbourne Stars within the closing on Saturday at 08:10 GMT.

Heather Knight and Tammy Beaumont will come up towards England team-mates Nat Sciver and Katherine Brunt, who helped the Stars beat Perth Scorchers on Wednesday, on the identical venue on Sunday.

Beaumont had a hand in two run-outs, having scored a 20-ball 27 within the Thunder’s 143-6.

Knight, the England captain, made 17 for Thunder, who had been grateful for Rachael Haynes’ well-paced unbeaten 48 off 44 deliveries.

The Heat’s chase unravelled with two run-outs in three balls within the 16th over.

Georgia Voll was properly brief as Kimmince referred to as for a second to deep mid-wicket, earlier than Beaumont – who had earlier dismissed Nadine de Klerk for 27 with a direct hit – and Johnson mixed to take away Amelia Kerr.

With 15 wanted off 19 balls, the Heat had been nonetheless favourites, however, the highly effective Kimmince – having hit two fours and 4 sixes – was bowled through inside edge and pad as she tried a reverse sweep.

Seamer Darlington struck twice in two balls to hasten the slide, and Johnson took a wise return catch to seal Thunder’s victory.

That is the rationale I play cricket – I really like conditions like that,” stated participant of the match Darlington.

Johnson stated: “I assumed they’d it within the bag. What an implausible sport – what a spectacle.”

The Thunder are chasing their first title because the inaugural WBBL in 2015-16, whereas the Stars will make their first look within the closing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here