Sri Lanka vs England 2021: 1st Test starts Wednesday

Sri Lanka vs England 2021: 1st Test starts Wednesday


Mathews will play as a specialist batsman; Chandimal set to return after lacking second Test in South Africa

Sri Lanka vs England

Batsman Angelo Mathews and quick bowler Nuwan Pradeep are amongst 5 players who’ve joined the Sri Lanka bio-bubble since their return from South Africa. They, together with batsman Roshen Silva, spin-bowling allrounder Ramesh Silva, and left-arm wristspinner Lakshan Sandakan have now formally been named within the squad to play England, within the Test series that begins Wednesday. The squad announcement was delayed till it was ratified by the nation‘s sports activities minister.

Also Read:- IND vs Aus Correct Playing XI Issue

Dhananjaya de Silva, who tore a ligament in his thigh on Boxing Day, and Kasun Rajitha, who injured his groin the next morning, are each out of the series altogether.

However Mathews’ return, specifically, will hearten a Sri Lanka aspect that had been struck down by harm in South Africa. He’s prone to take up a middle-order place, with Dinesh Chandimal additionally set to fit again in after lacking the final Test.

Sri Lanka’s staff supervisor Asantha de Mel stated that Oshada Fernando was not a certainty to play within the first Test in Galle, however, as a result of though he has recovered from the harm that stored him out of rivalry for the South Africa series, he has not had a considerable follow but.

Suranga Lakmal and Lahiru Kumara have additionally recovered from the varied strains that had plagued them in South Africa, however in line with de Mel, each could also be in need of conditioning. Like Oshawa, they’re technically accessible however aren’t sure to be within the XI. On the spin-bowling entrance, Sri Lanka has legspinner Wanindu Hasaranga, left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya, offspinner Dilruwan Perera, and Sandakan to select from. Except for Lakmal and Kumara, the accessible quicks embody left-armer Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera and Asitha Fernando.

Sri Lanka Team Squad:

Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Embuldeniya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Asitha Fernando, Roshen Silva, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Ramesh Mendis



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here