IPL 2021 Preview: Dhoni to Pant, meet all eight captains this season

IPL 2021 Preview: Dhoni to Pant, meet all eight captains this season


A captain is nearly as good as his team, however not everybody can deal with the stress and expectations. The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen a few of the biggest cricketing minds marshal troops. Australian greats like Shane Warne, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist had their share of sunny days, whereas Indian legends like M. S. Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma went on to script historical past.

IPL 2021

With the 14th edition of the world’s largest cricketing carnival quick approaching, right here’s a have a look at the eight captains who can be in command of their respective sides.

Also Read: IPL 2021 Full Fixture

M. S. Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings

Probably the most profitable and influential captains of all time, M. S, Dhoni and Chennai Super Kings’ (CSK) affiliation is effectively documented. Fondly referred to as Thala in Tamil Nadu, Dhoni has captained Chennai to a few IPL titles. Whereas CSK gained two consecutive titles in 2010 and 2011, the 2018 title win was a fairytale run because the team made a comeback into the IPL fold after serving a ban. Between 2008 and 2020, Dhoni has captained in 188 matches (CSK and Rising Pune Supergiants), successful 110 and shedding 77 with a win proportion of 58.82. He additionally led the facet to the ultimate in 2019, the place it completed runner-up to Mumbai Indians. However, it was a forgettable 2020 season for each CSK and Dhoni because the facet didn’t make the playoffs for the primary time in IPL historical past. Dhoni managed simply 200 runs from 14 matches with an unbeaten 47 being his highest. With the event again in India for the 2021 season, Dhoni can be hoping to get again his Midas contact!

Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma is probably the most profitable captain within the historical past of the IPL. He has led Mumbai India to 5 titles – in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. The Hitman has been in a wealthy vein of kind with the bat and has led the facet from the entrance with some match-winning contributions through the years. As captain from 2013-2020, Rohit has led Mumbai in 116 matches, together with his facet successful 68 and shedding 44 matches. He has a 60.34 win proportion, and beneath his captaincy, Mumbai has performed 4 tied matches. Within the final version, Sharma scored 332 runs at a strike charge of 127.69 with three half-centuries. Along with his facet gunning for an unprecedented sixth IPL title, Sharma will purpose for an encore.

Virat Kohli, Royal Challengers Bangalore

He’s probably the most profitable Indian Test captain ever when it comes to victories, however an IPL title continues to elude Virat Kohli. One of many modern-day greats, Kohli owns quite a few batting and captaincy information, however his Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has failed to put its arms on the IPL trophy. As captain of RCB from 2011-2020, Kohli stands third to Dhoni with 55 wins from 125 matches. Beneath Kohli, RCB has misplaced 63 matches and tied three, with the remaining 4 yielding no outcomes. He has a win proportion of 46.69. Within the 2020 season, Kohli scored 466 runs in 15 matches with three half-centuries at a strike charge of 121.35.

David Warner, Sunrisers Hyderabad

Probably the most flamboyant openers throughout codecs, David Warner captained Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to its solely IPL title in 2016. The Australian had an excellent season that yr, amassing 848 runs with 9 half-centuries. Warner continued to dominate with centuries within the 2017 and 2019 seasons. After being banned from worldwide cricket for his involvement within the sandpaper scandal, Warner was again as SRH captain in 2019 and continues to be the chief of the pack. Within the earlier IPL season within the United Arab Emirates, Warner led the Sunrisers to Qualifier 2, the place his facet misplaced to eventual finalist Delhi Capitals. With the bat, Warner scored 548 runs with 4 half-centuries at a strike charge of 134.64. As an IPL captain, Warner has gained 34 instances in 63 matches, shedding 28 video games with one tied match. He has a win proportion of 60.34.

k. L, Rahul, Punjab Kings
Trendy wicketkeeper-batsman k. L. Rahul was named captain of Kings XI Punjab within the 2020 version after the outfit made some structural adjustments. In his maiden outing as skipper, Rahul had an excellent season with the bat as he was the Orange Cap holder with 670 runs from 14 matches, together with an unbeaten 132 – his highest rating. With 5 half-centuries and a century, Rahul led from the entrance. However his workforce didn’t make it to the playoffs regardless of successful 5 matches on the trot on the again finish of the event. The India worldwide will look to information his workforce – renamed Punjab Kings this yr – to no less than the playoffs within the upcoming version.

Rishabh Pant, Delhi Capitals

Rishabh Pant has been appointed the Delhi Capitals captain for the 2021 IPL after common skipper Shreyas Iyer was dominated of the season as a consequence of a dislocated left shoulder he suffered throughout the ODI sequence in opposition to England. At 23, Pant will change into the fifth-youngest captain within the IPL. Pant has solely led Delhi in home cricket, however his phenomenal kind throughout the historic Test sequence win in Australia, and the house sequence in opposition to England made him a frontrunner for the place. Delhi reached the IPL remaining final season, however Pant went by way of a lean patch, scoring simply 342 runs in 14 innings at a strike charge of 114.

Rishabh Pant has been appointed the Delhi Capitals captain for the 2021 IPL.   –  IPL

Eoin Morgan, Kolkata Knight Riders

After designated skipper Dinesh Karthik stepped down halfway by way of IPL 2020, Eoin Morgan was handed the cost of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Vice-captain Morgan, who led England to its maiden World Cup triumph in 2019, was a pure successor and scored 418 runs with one half-century final season. He has a 2-Four win/loss document in seven matches, with one tied. The upcoming season can be a check of his management expertise.

Sanju Samson, Rajasthan Royals

Kerala stumper-batsman Sanju Samson was named captain of Rajasthan Royals for the 2021 IPL season after common skipper Steve Smith was launched from the facet. After Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane, Samson would be the third Indian to guide the workforce. Will probably be an added duty for Samson, who completed the 2020 season because the Royals’ highest run-getter, scoring 375 in 14 innings at a strike charge of 158. Rajasthan completed the 2020 season on the backside of the points desk, and will probably be a problem for Samson to carry the facet from the dumps.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here