Hosts New Zealand to kick off 2022 Women’s ODI World Cup on March 4 to 3 April

Hosts New Zealand to kick off 2022 Women’s ODI World Cup on March 4 to 3 April




Hosts New Zealand to kick off 2022 Women’s ODI World Cup on March 4 to 3 April,  Four against one of many qualifying sides in Tauranga, as eight of the perfect groups in women‘s cricket will battle over 31 matches in 31 days throughout six cities.

Defending champions England will begin their campaign with a high-profile assembly against Australia on March 5 in Hamilton. And 2017 runners-up India will hope to go one higher as they, too, begin off by going through the qualifying facet on March 6.

Whereas New Zealand, Australia, England, South Africa and India have certified, three qualifying sides will come from a match to happen in Sri Lanka between June 26 and July 10, 2021. As to the format of the World Cup itself, all eight groups will play towards one another as soon as and the highest 4 will undergo to the semi-finals.

Wellington will host the primary semi-final on March 30 and Christchurch will host the second semi-final and the ultimate on March 31 and April 3. All three games could have a reserve day. Auckland and Dunedin are the remaining two of the six venues which had been retained from the unique schedule of 2021.

Auckland will even host the large double-header weekend with India taking over Australia on March 19, and New Zealand going through England the next day. An ICC launch confirmed all matches will likely be broadcast to stay to a “large world viewers“.

The Hagley Oval has only recently been upgraded with floodlights and New Zealand veteran Amy Satterthwaite is raring to see how her house floor will look come game time.

“To play in a World Cup at our personal stomping ground right here in Christchurch, underneath lights, can be an actual profession spotlight,” she stated. “It was arduous to observe the T20 Women‘s Cricket World Cup from the sidelines again in March (after giving start in January) so seeing the match schedule all locked in for the ODI World Cup right here in 2022 provides each me and the remainder of the staff a goal to attempt for as we put together over the next 16 months.”

Along with being known as champions, the staff that wins all of it will stroll away with prize cash of NZD 5.5 million (the US $3.9 million approx.). India has come near clinching these honours and Mithali Raj is eager to go once more.

“India has been doing very nicely at ICC tournaments previously three or 4 years, whether you speak concerning the (ODI) World Cup or the lately concluded T20 World Cup,” she stated. “And if we handle to win the match in 2022, will probably be an enormous inspiration for the next technology of girls, because the 50-over format, is taken into account the head for any cricketer.”

The World Cup had to be postponed from its unique date in 2021 because of the Covid-19 pandemic and will likely be certainly one of two bumper women‘s cricket occasions in 2022 alongside the Commonwealth Games in England.

2022 Women‘s ODI World Cup schedule

New Zealand vs Qualifier,             March 4, Tauranga
Australia vs England,                   March 5, Hamilton
Qualifier vs South Africa,             March 5, Dunedin
Qualifier vs India,                       March 6, Tauranga
New Zealand vs Qualifier,            March 7, Dunedin
Australia vs Qualifier,                  March 8, Tauranga
Qualifier vs England,                   March 9. Dunedin
New Zealand vs India,                March 10, Hamilton
Qualifier vs South Africa,            March 11, Tauranga
Qualifier vs India,                      March 12, Hamilton
New Zealand vs Australia,          March 13, Wellington
South Africa vs England,            March 14, Tauranga
Qualifier vs Qualifier,                 March 14, Hamilton
Australia vs Qualifier,                March 15, Wellington
England vs India,                     March 16, Tauranga
New Zealand vs South Africa,   March 17, Hamilton
Qualifier vs Qualifier,               March 18, Tauranga
India vs Australia,                   March 19, Auckland
New Zealand vs England,         March 20, Auckland
Qualifier vs Qualifier,               March 21, Hamilton
India vs Qualifier,                    March 22, Hamilton
South Africa vs Australia,         March 22, Wellington
South Africa vs Qualifier,          March 24, Wellington
England vs Qualifier,                March 24, Christchurch
Qualifier vs Australia,               March 25, Wellington
New Zealand vs Qualifier,          March 26, Christchurch
India vs South Africa,               March 27, Christchurch
England vs Qualifier,                 March 27, Wellington
1st semi-final,                          March 30, Wellington
2nd semi-final,                         March 31, Christchurch
Final,                                       April 3, Christchurch



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here