Former Indian fast bowler Chetan Sharma, Abey Kuruvilla, Debasis Mohanty three new men appointed to India’s selection panel

Former Indian fast bowler Chetan Sharma, Abey Kuruvilla, Debasis Mohanty three new men appointed to India’s selection panel


The trio is a part of Sunil Joshi, and Harvinder Singh within the five-man panel, with Sharma set to be chairman, former India quick bowler Chetan Sharma, together with the quick bowling pair of Abey Kuruvilla and Debasis Mohanty, would be the three new men on the Indian choice committee.

The trio will be a part of the pair of Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh to finish the five-man committee, with Sharma set to be the chairman of the panel.

The number of Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty was made by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), led by former India allrounder Madan Lal and which additionally contains former India left-arm seamer RP Singh and former India women‘s participant Sulakshana Naik, on Thursday. By the way, 4 members of the five-member panel will now comprise seam bowlers.

The BCCI made the announcement by way of a media launch, saying the CAC has “beneficial” Sharma because the chairperson of the committee “based mostly on seniority” by way of his Test-playing expertise. Sharma, who turns 55 in January, has performed 23 Test matches and was one of many 11 candidates interviewed nearly on Thursday. In response to the BCCI, the CAC will conduct an assessment of the three selectors after one yr.

It is certainly a privilege for me to get a chance to serve Indian cricket as soon as once more. I’m a person of few phrases and my motion will converse louder than phrases,” Sharma instructed PTI. “I can only thank BCCI for this chance.”

Lal, RP Singh and Naik “met nearly” on Thursday – the same the day the 89th AGM of the BCCI was held in Ahmedabad – to choose replacements for Jatin Paranjpe, Devang Gandhi and Sarandeep Singh, whose phrases resulted in September.

Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty have been amongst a number of candidates who had utilized in late November, together with Ajit Agarkar, Maninder Singh, Nayan Mongia, SS Das and Ranadeb Bose.

The BCCI had put down a minimal qualification of seven Tests or 30 first-class matches, or 10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches for the candidates. They need to have additionally retired “at the very least 5 years beforehand” and mustn’t have been over 60 years of age.

The primary task for the brand-new panel shall be selecting the three squads for the lengthy dwelling tour in opposition to England that includes 4 Tests, 5 T20Is and three ODIs, starting February 5 next yr.

Sharma is essentially the most skilled of the three new names with 23 Tests and 65 ODIs by which he took 61 and 67 wickets respectively and likewise struck an ODI century after being promoted to No. four in opposition to England in 1989. He’s, nevertheless, famously remembered for taking a hat-trick against New Zealand in the 1987 World Cup. By bowling Ken Rutherford, Ian Smith and Ewen Chatfield, Sharma grew to become the primary bowler to seize a World Cup hat-trick and the primary Indian to take action in ODIs.

Mohanty, from Odisha, performed two Tests and 45 ODIs from 1997 to 2001 and likewise featured within the 1999 World Cup. He was India’s second-best bowler within the event with 10 wickets from six video games at a mean of 26, behind Javagal Srinath’s tally of 12. Mohanty additionally coached his dwelling aspect Odisha in 2011-12 after taking up from Michael Bevan.

Kuruvilla, who rose to international cricket from Mumbai, took 25 wickets every within the 10 Tests and 25 ODIs he performed in 1997. One of many tallest males to bowl for India at 6’6″, Kuruvilla impressed in solely his third Test with a five-for in opposition to West Indies in Bridgetown in 1997 however fell off the radar quickly after. Later he served in varied choice panels, heading the India junior choice committee in 2011-12 earlier than being named the Mumbai chief selector in 2012.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here