Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in inaugural LPL 2020

Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in inaugural LPL 2020



Former Pakistan all-rounder Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in inaugural LPL 2020 within the coronavirus-hit inaugural Lankan Premier League (LPL) Twenty20 match to be performed in Hambantota, Sri Lanka from November 26 to December 16.

Afridi was on Saturday named captain of the Galle Gladiators crew, which has been introduced by a Pakistani businessman, Nadeem Omar who additionally owns the favoured Quetta Gladiators franchise within the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Initially, Omar had introduced Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain of Galle Gladiators however he needed to alter his resolution after the wicket-keeper batsman was named within the Pakistan squad for the tour of New Zealand.

“Afridi will now captain the aspect since he’s the senior-most participant in our franchise and has expertise of captaincy,” Omar mentioned.

Held within the COVID-19 occasions, the inaugural LPL has been in hassle even earlier than its launch as a number of main worldwide gamers, together with Chris Gayle, Faf de Plessis, Liam Plunkett, David Malan, Lasith Malinga, Kamran Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Hafeez and Sarfaraz withdrew from the occasion due to different causes.

Pakistan’s discarded wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal has additionally pulled out of the league because of shoulder harm.

Pakistani gamers who shall be seen in motion within the league, embody Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Aamir, Ehsan Ali, Azam Khan, Usman Shinwari and Shoaib Malik.

Left-arm pacer Tanvir and Canada batsman Ravinderpal Singh, had, the truth is examined constructive for COVID-19 quickly after reaching Colombo.

5 franchises – Jaffna Stallions, Kandy Tuskers, Galle Gladiators, Colombo Kings and Dambulla Hawks will struggle it out for the inaugural LPL trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here